Ecommerce – Does the experience matter?

How important is it to ensure an easy quick seamless (and dare I say Secure) experience for a shopper.  I have a GameStop Story to illustrate.  I wanted to get a GameStop e-card for my son for his birthday.  I went to the site on my phone and entered my information probably 15 times before I gave up and went and found my computer.  Fairly, each attempt was due to not having some piece of information in correctly and the site was reset with the data.   At end, it decided that my credit card was a mismatch with my entered billing information.  Sounds like a pretty good security measure but my name address and phone were verified so I hoped that the computer would work out better.  It did not like it there either.  I took my husbands card and entered that and that encountered a different error.  All was correct but the GameStop Site didn’t like it there either.  I then had a flash of inspiration.  See if Amazon had the same product.  I knew I could buy products there easily.  I went there, and within a few minutes had purchased the item – sent it to my sons inbox and even had the points on the credit card decrease the amount I charged onto the card.  Very different experience and frankly the one we have come to expect.

Yes!  The experience matters.

Published by Evening Sunset

Life is moving so fast and it will be gone before we know it. I am recording a few funny, strange, sad, pieces of life before we all move on.

Leave a comment